How to Control Xiaomi Web Camera Sharing Permissions



This post came about as a result of another earlier post on How to share a Xiaomi webcam/video camera to multiple Mi accounts. A reader wanted more privacy control over his web camera after being shared with other accounts but could not find the necessary settings. After a few back and forth, it got apparent that even across Xiaomi products, the level of controls are not consistent and I thought this was worth a post by itself to show where to find the settings and get more feedback on the inconsistencies.

Xiaomi is a big Chinese company selling various Smart Home devices and digital technology products. It is a very big brand in its home market, and has been rising internationally due to its aggressive marketing and pricing strategies. 


In terms of webcam, Xiaomi has a few different series to cater to different market needs, so to set the context, I am using Xiaomi Home Security Camera 1080p (it's the China website because not all products are available in every market, just compare the photo with your web cam).

The below steps have been tested and are same in Mi Home IOS versions 4.8.7 and 4.9.2, but I noticed differences compared to version 3.19.0, so do take note which application version you are using.


If you have a different Xiaomi camera model and do not see the below, please share with us by leaving a comment below. So far, I have found that the Xiaofang camera series, which is another brand marketed under Xiaomi umbrella, does not have the permissions settings.


  1. In the Mi Home app, browse to the settings of the web camera which you want to change permissions i.e. this is a per web camera setting, not a Mi Home app level setting. If you are unsure how to locate the settings page of your web camera, check this post (steps 3 and 5).




  2. You should see the screen below. Choose "Share"

    Photo showing the web camera settings screen in Mi Home App
    Mi Home - Web Camera Settings Screen

  3. Choose the obvious option here:
    Photo showing the Share screen in Mi Home App
    Mi Home - Share Screen

  4. You get two options here: "Controllable" and "View Only". It seems the default is controllable and you need to change to view only if you want to restrict to purely viewing.

Expanding upon the "Permissions of shared devices" option in Step 3 and 4, some of you may have been confused and thought it is a "set once and apply to all" setting. Actually, it is part of the process to setup a new share to another account. 

What this means is, when you want to share to your camera to someone, you will go to the screen in step 3. Change the "Permissions of shared devices" to "View Only" if you want to restrict what the other party can do. Then, do the actual sharing with "Share with Mi Account" or with Wechat if you and the other party use the app.

And that is the straight forward version, however it seems not all models have the permissions setting, so do leave a message if you encounter any issue and let's discuss :).

Comments

  1. I'm using Mi Home IOS version 4.24.1, however I cannot choose "View Only" function. Although I adjust it to "View only" many times, it still automatically shows "Controllable". It makes me feel uncomfortable when others try to control my camera without my permission (I'm administraior). Do you know how to fix it? Thanks a lot.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Dan Thy

      I think I may have understood how that "Permissions of shared device" setting works. It is part of the setting up a new sharing process, i.e. It is asking the permission you want to give when you share to a new account and is not a blanket setting for all shares.

      What that means is when you are sharing to a new account, first choose the permission level at "Permissions of shared device", then proceed to "Share with Mi Account" and enter the account to share

      Delete
  2. I also have the same issue. I have previously shared it with another mi account as "controllable". but now when i want to share to another account as "view only", it is always "controllable" no matter how many times i set it to "view only".

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi hh

      Please see my reply to Dan Thy above.

      Delete

Post a Comment



Popular posts from this blog

How to share a Xiaomi webcam/video camera to multiple Mi accounts

USB Printing with DD-WRT

How to Turn on HTTPS for Blogger Blog with Custom Domain